<< | Page list | >>
To delete a page, edit the page, select (highlight) all text in the edit textarea and replace it with the single word
Note that it may be a good idea to add a comment to the field
After saving the changes the page is deleted. As an added safety feature, the deleted page still exists on the server (with a timestamp) and can be restored to the former page by the wiki administrator.
If you suspect that a page has been deleted but aren't sure, have a look at the wikigroup's RecentChanges. Erasing a page counts as editing the page, and the activity is recorded there and on Site.AllRecentChanges.
The default word used for page deletion ("delete") can be changed in config.php by setting the variable
Removing deleted pages
The deleted pages are kept in the wiki.d directory, with an extension of
One way to remove the files is to delete them from your file manager. If you have shell access, you could use different commands, for example, go into the wiki.d directory and type one of these lines:
rm -f *,del-* find wiki.d -name '*,del-*' -delete
An admin can just remove the unwanted pages from wiki.d/ . Normally, doing it via the wiki
doesn't resolve the problem, since it counts as an "update" which causes the Recent Changes page to be re-created, but it is possible to modify the site's configuration to allow deletion of the group's RecentChanges page -- see Cookbook:RecentChangesDeletion.
To delete a category, first delete the